First Impressions

Hello! Let's just be friends!

I try to be as politically correct as I can when dealing with people I do not know. First impressions are very important and I would not like it if those who meet me for the very first time view me as a rude lout. So I tend to be as polite and boring as possible during those important first moments. Basically what I do is give a false impression of who I really am before unleashing my unrelenting and irritating personality upon whomever it is that has the unfortunate displeasure of meeting me. That is what friendships or even relationships are all about though right? You give some sort of first impression that you feel people will feel enamoured to and then you slowly reveal to this person the type of prick you really are in the hope that they would not reject you for your crippling flaws and shortcomings. Or at the very least that is how I feel about first impressions.

They say we make our minds up about someone within the first couple of seconds that we meet the person. Our mind subconsciously makes a decision before we even know it. That seems very unfair though doesn’t it? I mean the first few seconds? That is when I am at my most boring and shit. I don’t want to be judged by those moments. However, I imagine the reasons for humans to have developed such an ability is that it allows us to make quick decisions about people we do not know. It minimises the risk of admitting an unfavourable character into our social group, it preserves the survival of the group. So for example if you see a half naked hairy man wielding a toy baby doll with chocolate on his face and penis you don’t strike up a conversation with him because he might give you trouble, which could be inconvenient.

In hypothetical situations as described above, the ability to shun, is beneficial. However when exercised on “normal” people in “normal” circumstances, I feel it gets in the way of human interaction. I love meeting new people, it is my favourite part of relationships because it gives me the wonderful hope that I might meet someone better than the arseholes I currently associate myself with. Unfortuneately I can’t help but judge others on first impressions anyway because it is subconscious behaviour, which is dreadfully hypocritical of me I guess.  The problem with this ability of ours is that it is not 100% accurate. I have met people who I thought I dislike but consequently love because I got to know them better somehow, even though I am very sure I hated them the first time I met them. And then there are those who I adored during our first few moments of friendship only to later find out that they are absolute pillocks.

So what I am trying to say is that first impressions are misleading (no shit Sherlock).

This entry was posted in Musing, Random and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Impressions

  1. Bella says:

    Perhaps those first impressions are misleading because everyone is pretending to be who they’re not? I can’t say I’m guilty of playing a “role.” With me, what you see is what you get. Most of the time, people will either love me or hate me. I don’t set out to impress anyone. I guess I just pray and hope that my scintillating personality and wit will shine through and the person on the other end will be captivated by all that is me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

